Backwards and Forwards…or is it Forwards and Backwards?

I won’t lie – I was never a huge fan of Backward by Design Lesson Planning! I wasn’t a fan of how it looked, to me personally it didn’t make much sense and overall I just found it confusing. I think the problem was that I had started off my Teachers’ College experience in a school that actually taught me how to lesson plan a particular way and that’s the way I’ve been lesson planning. When I got to my current institution, I was kind of thrown into the BbyD ship without any precursor as to what it actually was and how to successfully use it. Truth be told, I hated it – I still sometimes do, but I’m starting to understand why it makes sense and how efficient it actually can be. I’ve noticed that all my professors use this format to lesson plan, so I’ve decided that I am now all hands-on-deck for this concept. Maybe there is actual method to the madness! Here are my thoughts on my new found love of BbyD Lesson Plans:

It actually does make a whole lot of sense! I would hope that a teacher would know what they wanted to teach and what they wanted from a lesson before a they went about creating a lesson, but there is so much more to just the bare bones that we don’t think about when we need to make a lesson. For example how will you find out if your students have understood and learned from what the lesson was about? When we use BbyD Lesson plans that the first thing we tackle and from there we are able to plan out the rest. Think about it logically, you don’t plan a vacation with purchasing a ticket to an unknown destination, you choose the destination then purchase the ticket.

I’ve noticed that there are three basic steps in this lesson plan:

1) Identify desired resulted

2) Determine Acceptable Evidence

3) Plan Learning Experiences and Instruction

Trust me, I know it seems completely weird to be doing things from the end and then moving forward but that’s the beauty of this design – you start from the opposite end of the planning process we typically go through to design course. BbyD however leaves teaching activities until the end and starts with the desired results of that teaching.

 

Leave a Reply

