My first Blog Post; Who am I?

I get easily inspired by random people and things – Mr. Mali hit the spot with his Slam Poetry in the TED Talk posted below.

Some might find him a tad aggressive or even boarder line authoritarian with is tone but, when you look behind his strong words you can see a very clear and genuine message. Behind all the negativity I’ve heard about Teachers and teaching before starting my program, this is such a breath of fresh air! One of the key messages I get from Taylor Mali’s poem is that teachers wear multiple hats during every minute of their time. Not only do Teachers have to be educators, they also need to be the inspiration, drive and force in a student’s life. But teachers have an even harder job of being critical and being hard on students in order to promote better learning. Teacher’s don’t have a set job with clear defined boundaries of what they do. Every day is a new adventure with things we don’t know that are going to happen. Teacher’s may be hard on you or drive you up the wall – the only reason is because they care.

So who am I and what do I do? I am your child’s teacher and my job is to see his or her potential and to cultivate it, often times before you the parent gets to know about it.

Be thankful for all the teachers in your life.

Here are more of Taylor Mali’s Slam poetries for you to stumble upon:

https://www.teachingchannel.org/videos/teachers-make

Leave a Reply

